Bitcoin + Charity/Causes – Compiled a list which I will share inside

Thanks to Changetip we have ushered in the era of digital giving, we have a free way to send micro payments to content we enjoy and causes we believe in! Imagine the things which can be achieved with the power of free micro tipping with the masses. Cyrpto-currency continues its upward trend of user ship / acceptance which will continue to add more power to this idea.

Suddenly we can all chip in what we can afford to a desolate place in Africa with no access to clean drinking water, changing the lives of everyone in this village with an actual click of the mouse and nominal discomfort to our wallets + time! The implications of this use of micro tipping is HUGE, We have the power to end conditions which plague others in this world and we should all give this some serious thought. See what we can be add to this idea and implement it!

MoneyOver the last few months we have undertaken a tipping/giving campaign which would raise awareness of the charities which accept BTC – and some (5-6) have been left on the list in hopes that you will harass them enough to get them to budge xD

For the people who wish to see which charities accept Bitcoin – I have left it in raw text so you can copy paste at your leisure and help spread awareness.

  • The Water Project – http://thewaterproject.org/donate-bitcoin
  • The Internet Archive – https://archive.org/donate/bitcoin.php
  • Tor Exit Nodes – http://enn.lu/donate/bitcoin
  • Wikimedia – http://wikimediafoundation.org/wiki/Ways_to_Give#bitcoin
  • Aphasia Institute – http://www.aphasia.ca
  • GPG Tools – https://gpgtools.org/donate.html
  • Seans Outpost – http://www.seansoutpost.com/
  • Water Aid] – http://www.wateraid.org/uk
  • Technology for kids http://one.laptop.org/
  • Edward Snowden Defense – https://www.freesnowden.is/
  • The TOR Project – https://www.torproject.org/
  • Candian Down Syndrome Society – http://www.cdss.ca
  • Childs Play – http://www.childsplaycharity.org
  • War Child – http://www.warchild.ca/bitcoin
  • Blender Open Source – http://www.blender.org/foundation/donation-payment/
  • RNLI – https://rnli.org/howtosupportus/donatenow/Pages/bitcoin.aspx?utm_source=rnli-website-redirect&utm_medium=vanity-urls&utm_campaign=bitcoin
  • Khan Academy – https://www.khanacademy.org/donate
  • Alzeimer’s Association – http://www.alz.org
  • Save The Trees – http://www.evergreen.ca/en/
  • New Technology to Cure Hunger – http://www.new-harvest.org/
  • Ending Poverty – http://ajws.org/
  • Save The Seas – http://www.seashepherd.org/
  • Without Regrets – http://www.withoutregrets.org/
  • Make a millionaire – https://np.reddit.com/r/millionairemakers/comments/2q9ung/santa_is_real_thank_you_all_so_much_i_am_still_in/
  • Protect The Earth – http://www.generationgreen.com/
  • Doctors of the World UK – http://www.doctorsoftheworld.org.uk
  • Songs Of Love – http://www.songsoflove.org/bitcoins/
  • Non-Profit Tech Resources – http://ntrweb.org/support-ntr/#bitcoin
  • Fight Cancer – http://donate.thon.org/
  • Bitcoin Research Comparables – http://suitpossum.blogspot.co.uk/2014/12/academic-bitcoin-research.html
  • United Way – http://www.unitedway.org/pages/donate-bitcoin-to-united-way
  • Engineers without Borders – https://ssl.charityweb.net/ewbusa/
  • MAPS- http://maps.org/
  • Mesothelioma Research – http://www.curemeso.org/site/c.duIWJfNQKiL8G/b.9195907/k.6887/Bitcoin_Donation_Form.htm
  • Bone Marrow Help – http://www.bethematch.org
  • Bitcoin Against Ebola – https://bitcoinagainstebola.org/#!/
  • Childrens Medical Center of Dallas – https://give.childrens.com/
  • Education – http://www.pathwaystoeducation.ca/
  • The Planetary Society – http://www.planetary.org/become-a-member/other-ways-to-give/donate-bitcoin.html
  • Bread For The City – http://www.breadforthecity.org/bitcoin-donation-page/
  • Give A Mile – http://giveamile.org/donate/
  • Stop Domestic Violence – http://sigilsocial.org/donate/
  • Fight Malaria – https://www.againstmalaria.com/
  • Help Foster Kids – http://www.generationsofhope.org/donate/
  • Womens Centre – http://www.womenscentrecalgary.org/donate/donate-with-bitcoin/
  • Save The Children Ebola Fund – https://bitpay.com/615074/donate
  • OK Foster Wishes – http://www.okfosterwishes.com/
  • Legalise Marijuana – http://dcmj.org/donate/
  • Anza – http://www.anza.co.com/
  • Help Kids](https://www.helpsdkids.org/donate
  • LibreOffice – http://www.libreoffice.org/donate/
  • Mozilla Foundation – https://sendto.mozilla.org/page/content/give-bitcoin/
  • Darkcoin Foundation – https://www.darkcoinfoundation.org/
  • United Sikhs – http://unitedsikhs.org/
  • Cancer Support – http://www.macmillan.org.uk/Home.aspx
  • Operation Fistula – http://www.opfistula.org/donate/
  • BitGive Foundation- http://bitgivefoundation.org/donate-now/
  • WikiLeaks – https://shop.wikileaks.org/donate#dbitcoin
  • Hotspot Community Resource Center – http://www.seatoskycommunity.org/donate/
  • Antiwar.com – http://www.antiwar.com
  • Free Software Foundation – https://my.fsf.org/civicrm/contribute/transact?reset=1&id=14
  • Saving Girls – http://www.savinginnocence.org/
  • Electric Frontier Foundation – https://supporters.eff.org/donate
  • Reporters Without Borders – http://en.rsf.org/
  • The Tenth Amendment Center – http://shop.tenthamendmentcenter.com/product/pledge/
  • Young Minds – http://www.youngminds.org.uk/
  • The Bitcoin Foundation – https://bitcoinfoundation.org/donate/
  • GPG Project – https://www.wauland.de/en/donation.html#61
  • Apache Software Foundation – http://www.apache.org/foundation/contributing.html
  • The Food Democracy – http://www.fooddemocracynow.org/
  • Skateistan – http://skateistan.org
  • Ronald McDonald House Charities of the Capital Region – http://www.rmhcofalbany.org/
  • Catalyst Foundation – http://www.catalystfoundation.org/
  • Dark Wallet – https://www.darkwallet.is/
  • Sea Shepherd – https://www.seashepherd.org.au/support-us/support-us.html
  • Kitty Safe Haven – http://www.kittysafehaven.org
  • Tempe Bicycle Action Group – http://www.biketempe.org
  • Free Ross – http://freeross.org/donate-now-2/
  • Charity Water – https://www.charitywater.org/
  • Open Bazaar – https://openbazaar.org/
  • Krono Labs – https://www.kronolabs.com/
  • The Northern California DX Foundation – http://ncdxf.org/pages/contribute.html
  • Calgary Womens Centre – http://www.womenscentrecalgary.org/donate/donate-with-bitcoin/
  • Pathways Canada – http://www.pathwayscanada.ca/bitcoin
  • Help Rescue Animals – http://ru4mepetrescue.rescuegroups.org/info/donate
  • Pathways To Education – http://pathwaystoeducation.ca/
  • Exponential Education – http://www.exponentialeducationprogram.org/
  • Peace Geeks – http://peacegeeks.org/
  • Abolitionist Law Centre – http://abolitionistlawcenter.org/
  • 100% – http://100percent.org.nz/
  • Epic Change – http://epicchangeblog.org/
  • Generations Of Hope – http://www.generationsofhope.org/donate/
  • Methuselah Foundation – http://mfoundation.org/

The media and paid FUD always focus on SILK ROAD and the NEGATIVE side of this technology – It is about time we give them something POSITIVE which is TOO big to not write about. Lets start giving Bitcoin an image over haul one bit at a time 😀 Please note the above list was created through the efforts of /r/bitcoin and the individual submissions of this community – bounties were paid for good submissions and if you have any cool or much needed charity/cause you desire be added to this list please let us know! If you enjoyed this list/article please feel free to donate here – minimum of 50% of all tips will be given back in a continued effort to help spread the awareness of crypto